on failure

Well, my intent of exercising 3x a week in February didn’t exactly pan out like I wanted it to. Due to a variety of circumstances, all entirely within my own control, I didn’t even come close to this one. A few years ago, I probably would have let my lack of follow through stop me from trying at all moving forward.

I think we have all experienced that kind of self-defeating situation pattern at one point or another. We come face to face with failure, and instead of changing tactics and trying again, we let failure have the final word. I’ve never met a person who has succeeded at absolutely everything they’ve ever tried. I’d go so far to say, show me that person and I’ll show you someone who probably doesn’t take many risks or challenge themselves enough.

What matters in the long run isn’t that you failed – it’s how you learn to respond to failure.

My little corner of the internet is dedicated to my Day Zero Project – also known as 101 Goals in 1,001 Days. It’s goal setting on steroids. I’m on my second list of 101 goals, after only completing about 68% of the first round. Mathematically speaking, I’m pretty sure that’s failing. (But don’t quote me on that. I’m a lawyer, I don’t do math.) I could have just shrugged my shoulders and said that this kind of thing wasn’t for me. But I didn’t.

Those 1,001 days taught me that it’s the trying that counts and that’s the attitude I’m bring to my second 101 and to these 12 Changes. I posted on my blog today about how I’m upping the ante on retackling February’s goal on top of March’s, and I might fail at one or both of them. But I’m sure as heck not going to not try.

With two months of changing under your belts, I’m wondering how you’re all feeling?

If you haven’t checked in or posted about your changes in awhile, I’d love to hear how you’re doing!

Leave a Reply

